Now Reading
A Waterstones Online Event with Namina Forna

A Waterstones Online Event with Namina Forna


Sierra Leonean writer Namina Forna, author of The Gilded Ones will be part of a Waterstones online event on 16th March 2021.

Waterstones announced that it will be ‘an event with two brilliant fantasy authors, Ben Aaronovitch and Namina Forna, as they talk to award-winning author Patrice Lawrence (Orangeboy) about their amazing new fantasy works, What Abigail Did That Summer and The Gilded Ones.

They’ll discuss world-building in fantasy, and what they absorb from existing stories and culture to create their universes, and you’ll even get the chance to put your own questions to these three astounding writers at this special event.

Ben Aaronovitch grew up as part of a famously engaged and lively North London family. He has written for many TV series including Doctor Who and been a bookseller. His Peter Grant novels have been hugely successful, and he now writes full time. He still lives in London, the city he likes to refer to as ‘the capital of the world’.

Namina Forna was born in Sierra Leone and emigrated to the US in the 1990s at the age of nine. She has been travelling back and forth ever since. She now works as a writer and producer for film and TV in LA and was a finalist for NBC / Universal Writers on the Verge and semi-finalist for the Sundance Screenwriting Lab. The Gilded Ones is her debut novel for Young Adults.

Patrice Lawrence is an award-winning writer for children, teenagers and adults. Her books include Orangeboy, (shortlisted for the Costa Children’s Book Award and winner of the Bookseller YA Prize and Waterstones Prize for Older Children’s Fiction), Indigo Donut (winner of Bristol Crimefest YA Prize), Rose, Interrupted and Eight Pieces of Silva (Winner of Woman and Home Teen YA).  She was a 2020 Costa Book Awards judge and a judge for the Little Rebels Children’s Book Award for Radical Fiction.’

You can get your ticket(s) here.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2021 Literandra asbl. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top